Robert Brown Distinguished Service Award

The Robert Brown Award is given to a CACCRAO member who has distinguished him or herself within the Admissions and Records profession.  CACCRAO presents this award to recognize the outstanding contributions of individual CACCRAO members and to further the profession of Admissions and Records Officers within the California Community College system.  It is a symbol of commitment to leadership, innovation and professional standards.


The award is named in honor of Robert Brown, the Registrar at San Jose Community College District during the 1970’s and 1980’s.  He was so competent and driven that he held the title at two separate campuses within the district.  Dr. Brown was well known for his generous and open personality – he connected with both students and staff.  He would greet staff from every office on campus and knew all their names, even the names of their children.  According to his son, for Dr. Brown it wasn’t enough to just do a great job as Registrar, it was important to maintain an expression of “humanity” with everyone he came in contact.


After his untimely death, the CACCRAO Board established this award to acknowledge a person each year who exemplifies Dr. Brown’s model of both professional competence within our field and a genuine caring spirit.  Beginning in 1997, the first Robert Brown Award was presented to Gordon Newman from Santa Monica College.  Over the years, CACCRAO has presented this award to more than a dozen distinguished colleagues.


2016 Nomination Form - Nominations are Closed 


Past Recipients

2014-2015 Jasmine Ruys College of the Canyons

13 years in CACCRAO

13 years in education

2013-2014 Linda Miscovic Santiago Canyon College

20 years in CACCRAO

20 years in education


Alicia Terry MiraCosta College

20 years in CACCRAO

29 years in education

2011 12 Bill Mulrooney El Camino College

12 years CACCRAO

22 years in education

2010- 11 Debbie Rio College of the Canyons

24 years CACCRAO

25 years in education

2009-10    Judy Young    Chabot College

  10 years CACCRAO

  40 years in education

2008-09    Dan Angelo    San Barnardino Valley College

  18 years CACCRAO

  33 years in education

2007-08    Joy Chambers    Cuesta College

  10 years CACCRAO

  37 years in education

2006-07    Don Mast    College of the Sequoias

  10 years CACCRAO

  36 years in education

2005-06    Kathy Kyne    De Anza College

  18 years CACCRAO

  40 years in education

2004-05    Elinda Gonzales    Mt. San Jacinto College

  23 years CACCRAO

  38 years education

2003-04    Jess Craig    Irvine Valley College

  20 years CACCRAO

  37 years in education

2002-03    Hal Bateman    Santa Ana College

  40 years CACCRAO

  40 years in education

2001-02    Helen Simmons    Chancellor's Office

  22 years in CACCRAO

  28 years at CCCCO

2000-01    John Mullen    College of San Mateo

  18 years CACCRAO

  40 years in education

1999-00    Lynn Hanks    Mt. San Antonio

  19 years in CACCRAO

  34 years in education

1998-99    Gerry Fisher    Solano College

  13 years CACCRAO

  30 years in education

1997-98    Gary Stakan    Saddleback College

  20 years CACCRAO

  37 years in education

1996-97    Gordon Newman    Santa Monica College

  30 years CACCRAO

  40 years in education

                                       * Years of service represent those transpired at the time of award